Our guest this week is Dr. Courtney Helfrecht, assistant professor in the Department of Anthropology at the University of Alabama. Dr. Helfrecht chats with us about her path to bicultural anthropology and her work on adrenarche and alloparenting in sub-Saharan populations. She tells us about the importance of cooperation and what doing fieldwork far from home may teach us about ourselves.

Find out more about Dr. Helfrecht’s work at chelfrecht.people.ua.edu

Read her paper “Life History and Socioecology of Infancy” here: onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/pdf/10.1002/ajpa.24145

Find her article in the AJHB “Sibling effects on nutritional status: Intersections of cooperation and competition across development” here: onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/abs/10.1002/ajhb.22763

You can contact Dr. Helfrecht at chelfrecht@ua.edu

Contact the Sausage of Science Podcast and Human Biology Association:
Facebook: www.facebook.com/groups/humanbiologyassociation
Website:humbio.org/, Twitter: @HumBioAssoc

Cara Ocobock, Website: sites.nd.edu/cara-ocobock/, Email:cocobock@nd.edu, Twitter:@CaraOcobock

Chris Lynn, HBA Public Relations Committee Chair, Website: cdlynn.people.ua.edu/, Email: cdlynn@ua.edu, Twitter:@Chris_Ly

Theresa Gildner, Website: bonesandbehavior.org/theresa_gildner, Email: Theresa.E.Gildner@dartmouth.edu, Twitter: @TEGildner

Delaney Glass, Website: dglass.netlify.app/, Email: dglass1@uw.edu, Twitter: @GlassDelaney

Alexandra Niclou, Email: aniclou@nd.edu, Twitter: @fiat_Luxandra

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *