Cara and Chris chat with Dr. Marc Kissel, an assistant professor in the Department of Anthropology at Appalachian State University. Dr. Kissel is broadly interested in the processes by which we became human, and he uses methods grounded in paleoanthropology, genetics, and semiotics to address this question. In this interview he discusses is work on human warfare, including his recent book (written with Nam Kim) titled “Emergent Warfare in Our Evolutionary Past”. He also shares some ideas for best practices to engage students of all backgrounds and help them succeed.

Learn more about Dr. Kissel’s work here: marckissel.netlify.app/
You can also email him at marc.kissel@gmail.com or follow him on Twitter @MarcKissel

Contact the Sausage of Science and Human Biology Association:
Facebook: www.facebook.com/groups/humanbiologyassociation
Website:humbio.org/, Twitter: @HumBioAssoc

Cara Ocobock, Website: sites.nd.edu/cara-ocobock/, Email:cocobock@nd.edu, Twitter:@CaraOcobock

Chris Lynn, HBA Public Relations Committee Chair, Website:cdlynn.people.ua.edu/, Email:cdlynn@ua.edu, Twitter:@Chris_Ly

Theresa Gildner, Website: bonesandbehavior.org/theresa_gildner, Email: Theresa.E.Gildner@dartmouth.edu, Twitter: @TEGildner

Delaney Glass, Website: dglass.netlify.app/, Email: dglass1@uw.edu, Twitter: @GlassDelaney

Alexandra Niclou, Email: aniclou@nd.edu, Twitter: @fiat_Luxandra

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *