Dr. Kara Hoover from the Department of Anthropology at the University of Alaska Fairbanks chats with Chris and Cara about her research on the human sense of smell. She tells us about the development of testing tools needed to understand olfactory ability and how olfactory research can provide insight into human adaptation, the long-term consequences of Covid-19, and the relationship between pollution and cognitive impairment.

To learn more about Dr. Hoover’s work and the often overlooked, yet incredibly important subject of olfactory research please visit smellofevolution.com

You can read Dr. Hoover’s paper on “Field-testing olfactory ability to understand human olfactory ecology” in the American Journal of Human Biology here: doi.org/10.1002/ajhb.23411

and contact Dr. Hoover via email at kchoover@alaska.edu or on Twitter at @KaraCHoover

Contact the Sausage of Science and Human Biology Association:
Facebook: www.facebook.com/groups/humanbiologyassociation
Website:humbio.org/, Twitter: @HumBioAssoc

Cara Ocobock, Website: sites.nd.edu/cara-ocobock/, Email:cocobock@nd.edu, Twitter:@CaraOcobock

Chris Lynn, HBA Public Relations Committee Chair, Website:cdlynn.people.ua.edu/, Email:cdlynn@ua.edu, Twitter:@Chris_Ly

Theresa Gildner, Website: bonesandbehavior.org/theresa_gildner, Email: Theresa.E.Gildner@dartmouth.edu, Twitter: @TEGildner

Delaney Glass, Website: dglass.netlify.app/, Email: dglass1@uw.edu, Twitter: @GlassDelaney

Alexandra Niclou, Email: aniclou@nd.edu, Twitter: @fiat_Luxandra

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *