Dr. Gary James, a SUNY Distinguished Professor at Binghamton University, passed away on October 15 2020. Dr. James is remembered for his work on blood pressure variation and stress responses in humans. Over the years he was President of the American Human Biology and the American Dermatoglyphics Associations, received the Franz Boas Distinguished Achievement Award, the SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Teaching, and was a SUNY Distinguished Service Professor. He published over 300 peer-reviewed articles. Dr, Little and Dr. Brown chat with Cara and Alex about Gary’s legacy to the field of anthropology and human biology and his mentorship to students in anthropology, nursing, and other fields.

Read Dr. James’s last published review article on allostasis and adaptation here: anthrosource.onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/ab….13366

You can find Dr. James’s In Memoriam by Dan Brown and Helene Van-Berge Landry here: onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/10.1002/ajhb.23536

You can contact Dr. Brown at: dbrown@hawaii.edu
And Dr. Little at: mlittle@binghamton.edu

Take our 10-item survey so we can know more about our listeners to improve our podcast! albany.az1.qualtrics.com/jfe/form/SV_…7gtTtK0K2p3o

Apply to the NSF Cultural Anthropology Methods Program (CAMP) by 3/15/21 at methods4all.org

Link for submissions to the special issue of Evolution, medicine, and Public Health: academic.oup.com/emph/pages/call-…-palaeopathology

Contact the Sausage of Science Podcast and Human Biology Association:
Facebook: www.facebook.com/groups/humanbiologyassociation
Website:humbio.org/, Twitter: @HumBioAssoc

Cara Ocobock, Website: sites.nd.edu/cara-ocobock/, Email:cocobock@nd.edu, Twitter:@CaraOcobock

Chris Lynn, HBA Public Relations Committee Chair, Website: cdlynn.people.ua.edu/, Email: cdlynn@ua.edu, Twitter:@Chris_Ly

Delaney Glass, Website: dglass.netlify.app/, Email: dglass1@uw.edu, Twitter: @GlassDelaney

Alexandra Niclou, Email: aniclou@nd.edu, Twitter: @fiat_Luxandra

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *