In this episode of the Sausage of Science we explore issues surrounding mental health in academia with Dr. Rebecca Lester. Dr. Lester is interested in how people understand and experience existential distress, as well as the institutions and practices that arise to address this distress. Here she shares her insights for ways mentors can better support the well-being of graduate students.

Follow Dr. Lester on twitter @psychanthro, visit her website at rebeccalester.com/, or email her at RJLESTER@WUSTL.EDU

Contact the Sausage of Science and Human Biology Association:
Facebook: www.facebook.com/groups/humanbiologyassociation
Website:humbio.org/,
Twitter: @HumBioAssoc

Michaela Howells, Public Relations Committee Chair, Email: howellsm@uncw.edu

Cara Ocobock, Website: sites.nd.edu/cara-ocobock/, Email:cocobock@nd.edu, Twitter:@CaraOcobock

Chris Lynn, Website:cdlynn.people.ua.edu/, Email:cdlynn@ua.edu, Twitter:@Chris_Ly

Caroline Owens, Email: cowens8@emory.edu, Twitter: @careowens

Theresa Gildner, Email: Theresa.E.Gildner@dartmouth.edu, Twitter: @TEGildner

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *