About the Franz Boas Distinguished Achievement Award

The Franz Boas Distinguished Achievement Award honors members of the Association for exemplary contributions to human biology in science, scholarship, and other professional service. Criteria for the award are: (1) the recipient shall be identified as a leading figure in our profession, either from the United States or from abroad; (2) the recipient shall have made a series of contributions that represent a significant accomplishment within the profession; (3) alternately, the recipient shall have made a remarkable contribution or creative act that transcends normal scientific achievement and that is worthy of recognition both outside of and within the profession of human biology. The Call for Nominations for the Boas Award is sent to HBA members in July with nominations due in October for consideration by the Executive Committee. Recipients are honored at the annual meeting Awards Luncheon.

Please see the Call for Nominations for the 2023 Franz Boas Distinguished Achievement Award here. Nominations are due October 17, 2022.

Recipients of the Franz Boas Distinguished Achievement Award:

1996    Gabriel Ward Lasker
1997    James M. Tanner
1998    Alice M. Brues
1999    Francisco M. Saldano
2000    Paul T. Baker
2001    Derek F. Roberts
2002    Stanley M. Garn
2003    Geoffrey A. Harrison
2004    Alex F. Roche
2005    Ralph M. Garruto, Michael A. Little
2006    Robert Malina
2007    Emőke J. E. Szathmary
2008    A. Roberto Frisancho
2009    Cynthia M. Beall
2010    Lorna G. Moore
2011    Michael H. Crawford
2012    A. T. Steegmann, Jr.
2014    Darna Dufour
2015    Sara Stinson
2016    Wenda Trevathan​
2017    Deborah Crooks
2018    Gary James
2019    Peter T. Ellison
2020    Carol M. Worthman
2021    William R. Leonard
2022    Lynnette Leidy Seivert