Twitter icon
RSS icon

HBA second president Dr. Charlotte M. Otten celebrates 100th birthday

Congratulations to the HBA’s second president, Dr. Charlotte M. Otten (term: 1977-1978), who is celebrating her 100th birthday on May 23, 2015. Among her many contributions to the field of human biology was an edited volume (with Robert Meier and Fathi Abdel-Hameed): Evolutionary Models and Studies of Human Diversity (de Gruyter Mouton Publishers, 1978) and her edited volume, Anthropology and Art: Readings in Cross-Cultural Aesthetics (The Natural History Press, 1971) She was a faculty member in the department of anthropology at Northern Illinois University and also taught at University of Michigan.

HBA Annual Scientific Meeting 2015: “New Science and Old Friends”

Under EA Quinn, our stellar Local Arrangements Chair, the HBA 2015 meeting in Saint Louis was a smash. The Plenary Session, “The Milk of Human Kindness” was highly attended and stimulated interesting discussion and plans for new collaborations, while the oral and poster sessions were among the best we have seen in many years. For those of you who missed the meeting, the abstracts and program are posted here (below), and for those of you who just can’t get enough, next year’s meeting is set for April 12-16, in Atlanta, Georgia.

HBA 2015 Abstracts and Program

2015 Awards

Boas Award

HBA Treasurer Virginia Vitzthum, HBA Past-President Deborah Crooks, Dr. Stinson, and Dr. Barry Bogin.

Little Early

Michael A. Little Early Career Award recipient Dr. Brandon Kohrt (Duke University Global Health Institute), with nominator and HBA Secretary, Dr. Jason deCaro.

Hunt Award

Edward E. Hunt, Jr. Student Award for best graduate student oral and poster presentations were awarded to Asher Rosinger (University of Georgia) (left), and Traci Bekelman (University of Colorado), (middle), by HBA Nominations and Elections Committee Chair, Dr. Barbara Pipperata (right).

Spielvogel Award

Hilde Spielvogel Award for Outstanding Presentation by an Undergraduate Study was awarded to Natasha Hoehn, by HBA Executive Committee member and Membership Committee Chair, Dr. Susan Johnson.

Pearl Lecturer

The 2015 Raymond Pearl Memorial Lecturer, Dr. Margaret Neville, University of Colorado, receives her award from HBA President, Andrea Wiley