About the Edward E. Hunt, Jr. and Phyllis Eveleth Student Awards

The E. E. Hunt and Phyllis Eveleth Awards recognize two graduate students who have presented an outstanding paper or poster at the Annual Meetings. Papers/posters submitted for this award must be based on novel analysis and interpretation of primary or secondary data, and if multi-authored, the student must be the sole or first author and responsible for at least 80% of the data analysis and writings. Papers/posters are evaluated on the basis of the quality of the research, analysis and presentation by the Publication Committee. Recipients are honored at the annual meeting Awards Luncheon.

Recipients of the Edward E. Hunt, Jr. Student Award

1994    Hilton P. Silva
1995    Warren M. Wilson
1996    Tina Moffat
1997    Victoria A. Galloway
1998    Lori J. Fitton, Susan L. Johnston
1999    Barbara A. Piperata, Thomas W. McDade
2000    Audrey C. Choh, Chris W. Kuzawa
2001    Deborah E. Schechter, Daniel J. Hrushka, Brandon A. Kohrt
2002    Corey S. Sparks, Megan J. Wilson
2003    Kathleen M. Lindsay, Alejandro Nunez de-la-Mora
2004    FL Barbara Arredi, Kristen L. Knutson
2005    Regina Yaskey, Rohina Rubicz
2006    Chim W. Chan, Deborah Schechter
2007    Julia Ravenscroft, Sdja Pieta Kristiina Näsänen-Gilmore
2008    Elizabeth Gomes, Miguel Vilar
2009    Erin O’Neill, E. A. Quinn
2010    Mwenza Blell, Zachary DuBois
2011    Felicia Madimenos, Melissa Liebert
2012    Lauren Houghton, Benjamin Trumble, Genevieve Ritchie-Ewing (Honorable Mention)
2013    Asher Rosinger, Zanetta Thayer
2014    Cara Ocobock (Washington University): “The allocation model: a new model for predicting total energy expenditure of highly active humans in natural environments.”
2014    Sam Urlacher (Harvard University): “Childhood immune function and growth: Insight from repeat measures among the Amazonian Shuar”​\
2015    Asher Y Rosinger (University of Georgia): “Heat and hydration status: predictors of repeated measures of urine specific gravity among Tsimane’ adults in the Amazon”
2015    Traci A Bekelman (University of Colorado; co-authors C Santamaría-Ulloa, DL Dufour, LI Marín, AL Deng): “Using the protein leverage hypothesis to understand obesity among urban Costa Rican women”
2016   Morgan Hoke
2017   Jennifer Washabaugh

​Recipients of the Phyllis Eveleth Student Award

2016   Elizabeth Frame
2017   Ruby Fried